The list of honorees gave heartfelt speeches, showing that they didn't leave all their impressive actions on the football field. Many of the elite in South Jersey were on hand Monday night for the 66th annual Brooks-Irvine Memorial Football Club of South Jersey dinner at the Westin Hotel in Mount Laurel.

The Brooks-Irvine first-team all-South Jersey football team, selected by The Inquirer was honored, a total of 26 players. The all-South Jersey team appeared in Sunday's Inquirer.

Also at the banquet, Cherokee earned the award as South Jersey's No. 1-ranked team.

Buena was the recipient of the Samuel E. Fulton Memorial Sportsmanship Award.

Linebacker Wesley White of Washington Township earned the Brooks-Irvine Memorial Scholarship, while St. Joseph's two-way lineman Michael Mazzeo received the Edward J. Miersch Memorial Scholarship.

Four players were honored as Brooks-Irvine scholar-athletes.

Cherokee fullback Mike Zeuli and Holy Spirit linebacker Anthony Sarao were honored as the scholastic backs. Wiliamstown's Vince Kowalski and Haddonfield's Matt Porter were named the scholastic linemen.

The Edward G. Myer Memorial Distinguished Service Award went to two recipients - Jim Horner, former head coach at Haddon Heights, Cherokee and Haddonfield and Richard Wacker, the former coach at Rowan University.

The College player of the year (Division III) was Charles Curcio of Gettysburg College, a graduate of St. Josephs of Hammonton.

The University Player of the Year (Football Championship Subdivision, formerly 1-AA) was shared by Villanova teammates, offensive lineman Ben Ijalana of Rancocas Valley and receiver Matt Szczur of Lower Cape May.

Paulsboro graduate Alex Silvestro of Rutgers was named the Football Bowl Subdivision (formerly I-A) player of the year.

Former NFL linebacker Garry Cobb was the guest speaker.

Haddonfield's Frank DeLano, who guided the Bulldogs to an 11-1 record and South Jersey Group 2 title, was named the coach of the year.