Delsea's Sal Marchese Jr., who led his team to its second consecutive South Jersey Group 3 championship, was named the coach of the year by the Brooks Irvine Memorial Football Club on Monday night.

The announcement was the highlight of the organization's 69th annual banquet at the Crowne Plaza hotel in Cherry Hill.

Penn State coach Bill O'Brien was the keynote speaker.

The all-South Jersey football team, as selected by The Inquirer in conjunction with the club and coaches, was honored at the banquet.

Four athletes were honored as college players of the year: Villanova's Antoine Lewis (Mainland), Fordham's Carlton Koonce (Rancocas Valley), Tabor's James Monroe (Pemberton) and Widener's Mike Pacitti (West Deptford).

Marchese led Delsea to a 10-2 record and the program's 11th South Jersey title.

Delsea won its final eight games by a combined score of 306-45 after starting the season with a 2-2 record.

Delsea beat Barnegat by a 31-7 score in the South Jersey Group 3 title game Saturday at Rowan.

In 21 seasons, Marchese has a 167-56-1 record at Delsea. He has led the Crusaders to six South Jersey titles (2013, 2012, 2000 and 2005 in Group 3 and 2008 and 2009 in Group 2), which is one more than legendary coach John Oberg won during his career at Delsea.