NEUMANN-GORETTI senior guard Ja'Quan Newton was named Class AAA Player of the Year by the PIAA yesterday. The 6-3 senior, who averaged 21.6 points a game in leading his team to Catholic League, District 12 and state titles, also was named to the AAA first team.

Constitution junior forward Ahmad Gilbert was named Player of the Year in Class AA (he also was named to the first team), and the Generals' Rob Moore was named AA Coach of the Year. ConHigh won the District 12 and state AA championships.

Other city-leagues players honored:

Class AAAA: Roman Catholic's Rashann London, first team; Haverford School's Levan "Shawn" Alston, Martin Luther King's Sammy Foreman and Roman's Shep Garner, second team; Central's Christopher Bing and St. Joseph's Prep's Chris Clover, third team.

Class AAA: Archbishop Carroll's Derrick Jones, first team; Carroll's Ernest Aflakpui, N-G's Lamarr "Fresh" Kimble, Bishop McDevitt's Tyrell Long, and Archbishop Wood's Pat Smith, second team; N-G's Troy Harper, Imhotep Charter's Sean Lloyd, Penn Charter's Sean O'Brien, Philadelphia Electrical's James Suber and Carroll's Austin Tilghman, third team.

Class AA: ConHigh's Kimar Williams, first team; Germantown Academy's Tim Guers, second team; Friends Central's Jonathan Lawton, third team.

Class A: Math, Civics & Sciences' Samir Doughty and Mike Watkins, first team.