Major League Soccer has announced the full list of players who are eligible for the upcoming Re-Entry Draft. This is a two-stage process by which players with a certain amount of experience can become free agents if they are not selected.

The rules of the process are as follows.

Three classes of player are eligible for selection, according to the MLS Roster Rules:

- Players who are at least 23 years old and have a minimum of three years experience in MLS whose options were not exercised by their clubs (available at option salary for 2013).

- Players who are at least 25 years old with a minimum of four years of MLS experience who are out of contract and whose club does not wish to re-sign them at their previous salary (available for at least their 2012 salary).

- Players who are at least 30 years old with a minimum of eight years of MLS experience who are out of contract and whose club does not wish to re-sign them (available for at least 105% of their 2012 salary).

Clubs may still sign their eligible players until 5 p.m. Eastern on Thursday, December 6. Those players also may choose to opt out of the process entirely up to that point, which means that they will be out of MLS. Once 5 p.m. Thursday comes around, a blackout period begins in which no deals can be made.

The first stage of the Re-Entry Draft will take place on Friday, December 7 at 3 p.m. Eastern. A team which selects a player in that stage must exercise the existing option for, or make a real contract offer to, that player.

If a player is selected who has an option year (or years) remaining, that player will automatically be added to the team's roster - in other words, they can't draft him and then just release him.

If a player is selected who is (out of contract), and that player refuses the contract offerered, the drafting club will hold the right of first refusal for that player in MLS.

The second stage of the Re-Entry Draft will take place a week after the first stage: on Friday, December 14 at 3 p.m. Eastern. This stage has fewer restrictions on what happens to a player, and as such, tends to be much more lively.

It's my understanding that in both a declined option situation and an expired contract situation, the only rule is that the drafting club must make a genuine offer to the player within seven days. If no agreement is reached, the drafting club keeps the right of first refusal for that player in MLS.

As with the first stage of the process, there will be a blackout on all signings starting at 5 p.m. Eastern on Thursday, December 13 up until the end of the second stage.

Between the end of the first stage and the start of the second blackout, teams can make deals with remaining eligible players. That can include new contracts with current teams as well as trades.

It's also worth noting that teams can select their own players in the second stage of the process after all other clubs have passed on those players. Clubs cannot select their own players in the first stage.

If a player is not selected in either stage of the Re-Entry process, he becomes a free agent.

Now for the part you've been waiting for: the list of eligible players. You will see a lot of familiar names here, including many who used to play for the Union.

I know that one in particular will stand out to you. In addition to that player, I've highlighted a few others who I think could help the Union.

Chicago Fire: M Corben Bone (option declined), GK Jay Nolly (option declined), D Gonzalo Segares (option declined)

Chivas USA: F Juan Pablo Ángel (out of contract), M Peter Vagenas (out of contract), D Danny Califf (option declined), F Alejandro Moreno (option declined)

Columbus Crew: M Chris Birchall (option declined), GK Will Hesmer (option declined), D Julius James option declined, M Tony Tchani (option declined)

Colorado Rapids: F Conor Casey (option declined), D Hunter Freeman (option declined), GK Ian Joyce (option declined), D Tyrone Marshall (out of contract), M Joseph Nane (option declined), D Scott Palguta (out of contract), M Jamie Smith (option declined), D Marvell Wynne (option declined), D Tyson Wahl (option declined)

D.C. United: D Michael Chabala (option declined), M Stephen King (option declined), F Maicon Santos (option declined)

FC Dallas: M Julian De Guzman (out of contract), M Bruno Guarda (out of contract), GK Kevin Hartman (out of contract), F Scott Sealy (option declined)

Houston Dynamo: M Colin Clark (out of contract)

Sporting Kansas City: D Korede Aiyegbusi (option declined), M Luke Sassano (option declined)

Los Angeles Galaxy: F Chad Barrett (option declined), D Andrew Boyens (option declined), D Bryan Jordan (option declined), M Kyle Nakazawa (option declined), F Pat Noonan (option declined), GK Brian Perk (option declined)

Montréal Impact: M Justin Mapp (out of contract), M Josh Gardner (option declined), D Shavar Thomas (option declined)

New England Revolution: GK Tim Murray (option declined), M Blair Gavin (option declined)

New York Red Bulls: GK Bill Gaudette (option declined), D Stephen Keel (option declined)

Philadelphia Union: GK Chase Harrison (option declined)

Portland Timbers: M Lovel Palmer (option declined), D Steve Purdy (option declined), D Rodney Wallace (option declined)

Real Salt Lake: F Paulo Jr. (option declined), GK Kyle Reynish (option declined)

Seattle Sounders: M Mike Seamon (option declined), GK Andrew Weber (option declined), F O'Brian White (option declined)

San Jose Earthquakes: D Ramiro Corrales (option declined), M Joey Gjertsen (option declined), D Ike Opara (option declined), M Khari Stephenson (option declined), D Tim Ward (out of contract)

Toronto FC: M Eric Avila (out of contract), D Adrian Cann (option declined), D Jeremy Hall (option declined), D Ty Harden (option declined), F Andrew Wiedeman (option declined)

Vancouver Whitecaps: M John Thorrington (option declined)

The order of selection for both stages of the Re-Entry Draft is the same as it was for the Waiver Draft. It is based on reverse order of finish this year:

1. Toronto FC
2. Chivas USA
3. Portland Timbers
4. New England Revolution
5. Philadelphia Union
6. Colorado Rapids
7. FC Dallas
8. Montréal Impact
9. Columbus Crew
10. Vancouver Whitecaps FC
11. Chicago Fire
12. Real Salt Lake
13. New York Red Bulls
14. Sporting Kansas City
15. San Jose Earthquakes
16. Seattle Sounders FC
17. D.C. United
18. Houston Dynamo
19. Los Angeles Galaxy