The U.S. Department of Education is investigating 55 colleges for possible violations of federal law in their handling of sexual violence and harassment complaints.

The schools, listed alphabetically by state:

Arizona State University

Butte-Glen Community College District (Calif.)

Occidental College (Calif.)

University of California, Berkeley

University of Southern California

Regis University (Colo.)

University of Colorado at Boulder

University of Colorado at Denver

University of Denver

University of Connecticut

Catholic University of America (D.C.)

Florida State University

Emory University (Ga.)

University of Hawaii at Manoa

University of Idaho

Knox College (Ill.)

University of Chicago

Indiana University, Bloomington

Vincennes University (Ind.)

Amherst College (Mass.)

Boston University (Mass.)

Emerson College (Mass.)

Harvard College (Mass.)

Harvard University Law School (Mass.)

University of Massachusetts, Amherst

Frostburg State University (Md.)

Michigan State University

University of Michigan, Ann Arbor

Guilford College (N.C.)

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Minot State University (N.D.)

Dartmouth College (N.H.)

Princeton University (N.J.)

CUNY Hunter College (N.Y.)

Hobart and William Smith Colleges (N.Y.)

Sarah Lawrence College (N.Y.)

SUNY at Binghamton (N.Y.)

Denison University (Ohio)

Ohio State University

Wittenberg University (Ohio)

Oklahoma State University

Carnegie Mellon University (Pa.)

Franklin and Marshall College (Pa.)

Pennsylvania State University

Swarthmore College

Temple University

Vanderbilt University (Tenn.)

Southern Methodist University (Texas)

University of Texas, Pan American

College of William and Mary (Va.)

University of Virginia

Washington State University

University of Wisconsin, Whitewater

Bethany College (W.Va.)

West Virginia School of Osteopathic Medicine

SOURCE: U.S. Department of Education