Skip to content
Link copied to clipboard

Rutgers sues Big East

Rutgers University is suing the Big East Conference to avoid paying a $10 million exit fee when it leaves for the Big Ten in 2014.

Rutgers University is suing the Big East Conference to avoid paying a $10 million exit fee when it leaves for the Big Ten in 2014.

Big East bylaws state that a school must give 27 months' notice and pay a $10 million withdrawal fee. The suit claims the Big East has selectively enforced the rules. Rutgers claims some schools did not have to give notice or pay the fee on their way out. The Big East allowed Syracuse, Pittsburgh, West Virginia, and Texas Christian to leave the league before the 27-month period had run its course.

Rutgers has asked the Big East for the $1.3 million it lost when a game was canceled due to TCU's withdrawal from the Big East.

FIU fires head coach

Florida International has fired football coach Mario Cristobal after six seasons and a 27-47 record.

Athletic director Pete Garcia on Wednesday called FIU's season "a total collapse" and said the program needs to go in a different direction. After being picked to win the Sun Belt Conference this season, the Panthers finished 3-9.

O'Brien gets noticed

The Maxwell Football Club of Philadelphia announced Wednesday that Penn State coach Bill O'Brien has been named as one of three finalists for its collegiate coach of the year award. O'Brien joins Notre Dame's Brian Kelly and Kansas State's Bill Snyder on that short list.

It is the third time in three days that O'Brien, who led the Nittany Lions to an 8-4 record this season, had been on a list of finalists for an award as the nation's top college coach.

On Monday it was the Eddie Robinson coach of the year from the Football Writers Association of America. The Liberty Mutual coach of the year committee included O'Brien on its list on Tuesday. O'Brien also is on the watch list for Bear Bryant national coach of the year.

Award season continues

Notre Dame senior Tyler Eifert on Wednesday won the John Mackey Award as the nation's best tight end. Eifert had 44 receptions for 624 yards and four touchdowns for the Fighting Irish.

Notre Dame's Manti Te'o, a Heisman Trophy finalist, on Wednesday won the Lombardi Award, given to the nation's best lineman or linebacker.

The Associated Press on Wednesday named Kansas State quarterback Collin Klein the Big 12 offensive player of the year and TCU's Devonte Fields the defensive player of the year.

Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel, the Heisman Trophy front-runner after topping 3,000 passing yards and 1,000 rushing yards, is the SEC offensive player of the year, while South Carolina defensive end Jadeveon Clowney was the top defensive player.

Clowney, who set a school record for sacks (13), tackles for loss in a season (211/2), and sacks in a single game (41/2 vs. Clemson), on Wednesday won the 2012 Ted Hendricks Award, given to the nation's top defensive end.