A season full of heroic performances has earned Temple's Khalif Wyatt the city's most prestigious college basketball honor: Big 5 Player of the Year.

The senior from Norristown averaged 20.5 points and four assists per game this season, and led Temple to a 24-10 record. He played a big role in the Owls' NCAA tournament second-round win over N.C. State, and regular-season victories over Villanova, Syracuse and Virginia Commonwealth.

It is the 17th time in the City Series' 56-year history that an Owl has been named the Big 5's Player of the Year. Wyatt joins a list of big names including Guy Rodgers, Mark Macon, Pepe Sánchez and Lavoy Allen.

Wyatt has already earned quite a few honors this year. He was named the Atlantic 10's player of the season, and made the Associated Press' All-America Honorable Mention team, the U.S. Basketball Writers' All-District team, and the National Association of Basketball Coaches All-District team.

Wyatt also was recognized the Big 5's top scorer for the season.

La Salle's John Giannini was recognized as the Big 5's coach of the year. Giannini led the Explorers on a thrilling run to the Sweet 16 in the school's first NCAA tournament appearance sine 1992.

Villanova point guard Ryan Arcidiacono was named the Big 5's rookie of the year. The Langhorne native played in all 34 of the Wildcats' games this season, and averaged 34 minutes per game on the floor.

Here's the full list of this season's Big 5 honorees:

City Series Co-Champions: Temple and La Salle

Player of the Year: Khalif Wyatt (Temple)

All-Big 5 First Team

Tyreek Duren, La Salle
Khalif Wyatt, Temple
Ramon Galloway, La Salle
JayVaughn Pinkston, Villanova
Ronald Roberts, Saint Joseph's

All-Big 5 Second Team

Ryan Arcidiacono, Villanova
Carl Jones, Saint Joseph's
Rahlir Hollis-Jefferson, Temple
Langston Galloway, Saint Joseph's
Mouphtaou Yarou, Villanova

Coach of the Year: Dr. John Giannini, La Salle

Rookie of the Year: Ryan Arcidiacono, Villanova

Most Improved Player: Darrun Hilliard, Villanova

Top Scorer: Khalif Wyatt, Temple

Best Free Throw Shooter: Miles Cartwright, Penn

Scholar-Athlete of the Year: T.J. DiLeo, Temple