Skip to content
Link copied to clipboard

School Notes

Eric Swiecinski and Michelle Scott, seniors at Washington Township High School, have received Student Television Awards for Excellence from the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences, Mid-Atlantic Chapter.

Edward Greve
Edward GreveRead more

Eric Swiecinski


Michelle Scott

, seniors at Washington Township High School, have received Student Television Awards for Excellence from the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences, Mid-Atlantic Chapter.

The school also won the chapter's inaugural Jerry Trently Prize. The prize, which includes $1,000 for TV programming and equipment, honors the late broadcaster, who worked 21 years at WHP–TV (CBS Channel 21) in Harrisburg as a videographer and news director.

Swiecinski won first place in Technical Achievement for "The Race" and Scott won first in news for "Model United Nations." Each received a crystal statue at a ceremony April 26 at Temple University.

Thirteen schools from the Philadelphia region submitted work to be judged for the award, part of the National Student Television program to support student journalism skills.

Eight teachers and staff members who are retiring from Glassboro Public Schools this year were among those honored Thursday at the district's annual recognition dinner. They are: Yvonne McCant, secretary to the principal, Dorothy L. Bullock School; Elizabeth DeStefano, kindergarten readiness teacher, J. Harvey Rodgers School; Daniel Corradetti, seventh- and eighth-grade teacher of math, science and social studies, Glassboro Intermediate School; Virginia Polillo, classroom aide for grades 1-3, Bullock; Bonny Dorman, special education teacher for grades 4-6, Thomas E. Bowe School; Rachel Blumenfeld, English teacher, Glassboro High School; Andrea Sheppard, security aide, Glassboro High, and Angela Stanwood, special education teacher, Glassboro High.

Earning Glassboro Golden Apple Teacher Awards this year were Denise Gallagher, kindergarten teacher, Rodgers; Jacqueline Applegate, first-grade teacher, Bullock; Karen Martorana, fifth-grade teacher, Bowe; Patricia Schmus, seventh- and eighth-grade languate arts teacher; Glassboro Intermediate, and Susan Evans, English teacher, Glassboro High. A Golden Apple/Special Recognition Award went to Gale Jones, teacher in the W.O.R.K. Shop II Program at the Elsmere School. Honorees were nominated by students, parents, staff and Glassboro residents, then selected by panels of school and community representatives.

Sonya Harris, a second-grade teacher at Dorothy L. Bullock School, has been named Sam's Club's Neighborhood Teacher of the Year. Her selection, based on student nominating letters, earned her $1,000. Harris said she would use the money to buy an auditory training system for an inclusion classroom, where regular education students learn alongside those with special needs. She teaches in such a classroom, where she was honored May 9.

Rowan University has named new vice presidents of Student Affairs and University Advancement. Carmen Jordan-Cox, now vice president of Student Services at Merritt College in Oakland, Cal., will oversee Student Affairs. Mary McRae, associate vice president for Development at Villanova University, will be in charge of University Advancement. Jordan-Cox replaces Drew Calandrella, who left Rowan last fall to become vice president for Student Affairs at California State University, Chico. McRae replaces Philip Tumminia, who retired this spring after 38 years at Rowan. McRae is expected to assume her post July 16 and Jordan-Cox, July 30.

Domenick Renzi, a fifth-grade teacher at Bells Elementary School in Washington Township, recently turned a unit on research into competition. In "Classroom Olympics," each team made a map, produced a flag, created a board game and designed a Power Point presentation of its country.

They also competed in various sporting events. Medals were presented at the close. The team that won the gold, students who researched Nigeria, were Craig Wert, Louis Antonini, Patrick Azandossessi, Kyra Popolo, Jessica Dwyer and Lisa Giordano. Winning the silver was the Bulgarian team, Shawn Robinson, Isaac Egizi, Giavanna Aquilino, Miranda Fasano and Jessica Martinsen.

The Women's Professional Network of Rowan University has received the Outstanding Chapter Award from New Jersey American Council on Education Network (NJ ACE-NET). The chapter, founded in the early 1980s, aims to provide opportunities for women in various positions campus-wide to network, hone skills and develop strategies for advancement.

Edward Greve of Glassboro, a May 11 graduate of Rowan University, has received about $54,000 for two years of study and expenses from the Netherlands Organization for International Cooperation in Higher Education.

Greve, 19, who earned a bachelor's degree in physics and math, is enrolled in a master's program in mathematical physics at the Universiteit van Amsterdam. The Netherlands organization awards scholarships to international and Dutch bachelor's, master's and doctoral students. Greve entered Rowan in spring 2004, when he was 16.

- Lea Sitton Stanley