Kristina Fragoso

of Franklinville and

Joe Onorato

of Mantua are the two nominees from Delsea Regional High School for the Wendy's High School Heisman Award this year. Principal

Joseph Sottosanti

selected the two seniors based on academic aptitude, athletic talent, and commitment to their communities, inside school and beyond. Kristina was named to the first team, all tri-county for soccer as well as first team, all South Jersey. She belongs to the National Honor Society. Joe made the South Jersey Football Touchdown Club, first team all-academic. He is president of the Delta Eta Sigma Fraternity. The two were among more than 1,000 New Jersey seniors and 150,000 nationwide to compete for the Wendy's award, given annually to one female and one male student.

Members of the Family, Career and Community Leaders of America Club at Washington Township High School recently took the state title in the FCCLA Life Smarts competition in Edison. They are to represent New Jersey at the national competition in Minneapolis in April. Six schools competed for the title. It is the first time Washington Township has won the crown. The competitors were

Stephanie Bradfield


Jordan Toulson


Alexa Gabrieli


Courtney Furtaw


Jessica Palo

. The club advisers are

Elizabeth Molle


Lisa Morris


The Washington Township High School Sports Hall of Fame Executive Committee is accepting nominations for the November 2008 Induction Banquet. Former athletes are inducted every three years. Candidates must have graduated from high school at least five years before being nominated, have been a student at the school at least two years, excelled in athletics while a student or as an athlete after graduation, and must have shown character, citizenship, success and leadership during their high school career and beyond. Previous nominees may be considered. Nomination forms may be downloaded from, or obtained by calling 856-589-6644, Ext. 6342. Forms must be mailed by Jan. 15 to Jack McGee, Director of Secondary Education, Washington Township Public Schools, c/o WTHS Sports Hall of Fame Executive Committee, 206 E. Holly Ave. Sewell, N.J., 08080.

Washington Township High School's Future Business Leaders of America recently inducted its officers and members for the school year. The new officers are

Sally Wong

, president;

Adam Debes

, vice president;

Lisa Manno

, secretary; and

Tara Rothrock

, treasurer. Adviser

Victoria Vavricka

presided over the induction ceremony.

FBLA is a national student organization that offers career development programs.

College-bound high school seniors have less than a week to enter the Beneficial Scholars Program essay contest sponsored by Philadelphia-based Beneficial Bank.

The program, which awards $45,000 in scholarships to six students, is accepting entries until Friday from seniors in Burlington, Camden and Gloucester Counties.

Students are asked to write an essay describing what they think is the most important issue facing their community and how they would respond to this concern.

The winning writer will receive a $20,000 scholarship, and five runners-up will receive $5,000 scholarships. Judging will be done by a panel of area business and community leaders and educators.



for an entry form.