DeSean Jackson, Brent Celek and four other Eagles were fined $10,000 each for their end zone celebration after Celek's second-quarter touchdown in the Eagles' 38-10 win over Carolina on Sunday.

Jamaal Jackson, Kevin Curtis, Stacy Andrews and Alex Smith also were fined. The players received letters today from the league office via FedEx.

After Celek scored on a nine-yard TD reception, he handed the football to Jamaal Jackson. Several players encircled Jackson and DeSean Jackson. Jamaal Jackson spiked the football, at which point DeSean Jackson flopped to the ground. The other players -- Celek, Curtis Andrews and Smith -- hopped upon the spike. The clip is on youtube.

DeSean Jackson received a unsportsmanlike conduct penalty after the celebration, and then a stern warning from coach Andy Reid.

Told that he could have avoided the entire mess if he had simply held on to the football, Celek refused to take the blame for $60,000 in fines and said he was appealing his fine.

"I was just trying to give it to a lineman to let him spike it," Celek said.

Winston Justice also was fined $5,000 for a helmet-to-helmet hit on a run by Brian Westbrook. He also said he'd appeal.

These fines come after the league decided that the hit on Donovan McNabb in the end zone by Panthers defensive tackle Damione Lewis was legal and not worthy of a fine. McNabb, of course, fractured a rib on the play.