Michael Bowman, president and CEO of Valley Forge Casino Resort, has been named the chairman of the Valley Forge Convention and Visitors Bureau.

Sarah M. Bricknell has been appointed to the New Jersey Committee on the Unauthorized Practice of Law. She is a partner and assistant general counsel at Duane Morris L.L.P., Philadelphia, and practices in the areas of professional and business ethics and professional liability litigation.

Related stories

Villanova University has selected noted Irish poet and scholar Eamonn Wall as the 2014 Charles A. Heimbold Jr. chair of Irish Studies in its College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

CADEkids, a behavior-development organization in Philadelphia, elected Eric E. Reed to its board. He is a partner with Fox Rothschild L.L.P.

Gwen Smoker has been elected president of the Oxford Area Chamber of Commerce. She is Oxford branch manager of Citadel Federal Credit Union.

The National Commodity Supplemental Food Program Association elected George Matysik president. He is director of government affairs and public policy for Philabundance.

Neil A. Stein, principal of the land use and zoning group at Kaplin Stewart, Blue Bell, was appointed to the Home Builders Association of Bucks and Montgomery County's board of directors and reappointed chair of the political action committee of HBA.

Stuart W. Davidson has been appointed to the Professionals Committee of the International Foundation of Employee Benefit Plans. He is a partner at Philadelphia labor and employment law firm Willig, Williams & Davidson

Stradley Ronon managing partner Jeffrey A. Lutsky has been elected to serve on the board of the Arts & Business Council of Greater Philadelphia.

St. Christopher's Hospital for Children's surgeon-in-chief, Marshall Z. Schwartz, has been appointed vice chairman for academic affairs and affiliations at the Drexel University College of Medicine Department of Surgery and elected as an honorary fellow in the Royal College of Surgeons of England.

Stradley Ronon partner Michael O'Mara has been appointed to board of the Center for Autism, which offers evaluation, treatment and training services to children, adults and families throughout the Philadelphia region.

Ethan O'Shea, a partner in the Lansdale law firm of Hamburg, Rubin, Mullin, Maxwell & Lupin P.C., has been named chair of the Montgomery Bar Association's Employment & Labor Law Committee. He is a member of the firm's litigation department.

The Central Bucks Chamber of Commerce elected Blair Rush, Eastern region president at National Penn, chairman. Past chairman is Bob Welch of Academy Wealth Advisors.

Board members include James Brexler, president and CEO of Doylestown Hospital; Thomas A. Gockowski, executive vice president at Carroll Engineering Corp.; Ervin H. Hall, principal of Profection Advisors; Lisa Tremper Hanover, director and CEO of the James A. Michener Art Museum, and Frederick E. Schea, CEO and president of First Savings Bank.

Montgomery McCracken attorney Albert Piccerilli has been elected to the board of directors of the Senior Law Center, a Philadelphia nonprofit that works to protect the legal rights and interests of needy, elderly residents.

Health Care Improvement Foundation, an independent nonprofit organization that leads health-care initiatives aimed at improving safety, outcomes, and care experiences, has named Patrick J. Brennan chair. He is senior vice president and chief medical officer, University of Pennsylvania Health System.

   Steven T. Wray, executive director, Economy League of Greater Philadelphia, is vice chair. Michael J. Casey, senior vice president, Aon Hewitt, is treasurer. Past chairs Michael B. Laign, president and chief executive officer, Holy Redeemer Health System, and Thomas J. Lewis, retired president and chief executive officer of Thomas Jefferson University Hospitals, remain on the board. Foundation president Kate J. Flynn serves as secretary.

New board members include Craig Johnson, advisory director and former managing director, Glenthorne Capital Inc., and Judith Sullivan, dean of the Philadelphia Episcopal Cathedral. Reelected members are Marla J. Gold, professor and former dean of Drexel University School of Public Health; Kenneth Goldblum, chief medical officer of Renaissance Medical Management Co.; Jeffry Komins, executive vice president, Catholic Health East, and Natalie Levkovich, executive director, Health Federation of Philadelphia.

Incumbent board members include Elaine Markezin, senior vice president, operations, and chief operations officer, Health Partners Plans; MaryLou Manning, associate professor, Thomas Jefferson University School of Nursing; Meg McGoldrick, executive vice president and chief operating officer, Abington Memorial Hospital; Joan K. Richards, president and chief executive officer, Crozer-Keystone Health System, and Richard Snyder, senior vice president and chief medical officer, Independence Blue Cross.

The Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia appointed the following members to its Community Depository Institutions Advisory Council for a three-year term:

   Marcie Barber, president and CEO of Juniata Valley Financial Corp. and Juniata Valley Bank; Anthony Biondi, CEO and director of MNB Corp. and Merchants Bank of Bangor; Ed Dietzler, president of the Bank of Princeton; Angela Snyder, president and CEO of Fulton Bank of New Jersey, and Mark Turner, president and CEO of WSFS Financial Corp. and WSFS Bank.

John Huh, associate at DLA Piper, has been appointed to the board of the Public Interest Law Center of Philadelphia as the ex-officio representative from the Asian Pacific Bar Association. Gaetan Alfano, partner at Pietragallo Gordon Alfano Bosick & Raspanti L.L.P. and vice chancellor of the Philadelphia Bar Association, has been appointed an ex-officio member.

Michael Houghton, a partner at Morris Nichols Commercial Law Counseling Group, Wilmington, has been elected to the executive committee of the board of directors of the Delaware State Chamber of Commerce.

Joseph Santarone, shareholder in the Philadelphia office of Marshall Dennehey Warner Coleman & Goggin, has been named to the National Advisory Council of the Widener University School of Law. Santarone is the supervising attorney for the firm's professional liability department.

Arts and Business Council of Greater Philadelphia executive director Karin Copeland was appointed to serve on the Americans for the Arts Council Board, a nonprofit that seeks to assist the network of organizations and individuals who support the arts in America. - Mike Zebe