Eight area players, including four from Archbishop Wood, were selected to represent Pennsylvania versus Ohio in the 55th annual Big 33 Football Classic, which is scheduled for June 16 at HersheyPark Stadium.

Selected from Wood, the PIAA Class AAA state champion, were tight end Colin Thompson (a University of Florida commit), offensive linemen Frank Taylor (Boston College) and Brandon Arcidiacono (Rutgers), and defensive back Nate Smith (West Virginia).

The other area players tabbed were Pennsbury offensive lineman J.J. Denman (Wisconsin), St. Joseph's Prep quarterback Skyler Mornhinweg (Penn State), Spring-Ford wide-receiver defensive back Andrew Scanlan (Northwestern), and Cardinal O'Hara defensive back Damiere Shaw (Temple).

The series is tied, 12-12. Last June, Ohio romped to its third straight victory by a 50-14 score.

-Rick O'Brien